Question: slide 3 squares

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
skyscraper
skyscraper's picture
Question: slide 3 squares

We had a situation come up during a game yesterday. Xanathar has:

Quote:
Use at start of any turn: Slide a creature 3 squares.

My understanding is that you cannot choose to slide the creature 1 or 2 squares, it has to be 3 squares, because the power does not say "up to 3 squares". Correct?

However, and this is where there is uncertainty in my mind, since slide is in any direction, can you move the creature back and forth and ultimately have it end, say, 1 or 2 squares away from the starting position? Or is the slide distance counted from the starting position and it is then mandatory to have it end 3 squares from its starting position?

The power itself does not appear to force an end position 3 squares away, so literal interpretation appears to support the creature being allowed to end 1 or 2 squares away from starting position, but I want to make sure there was not a ruling on this.

Ira
Ira's picture

I'm guessing design intent was "up to 3 squares," but you're totally right that as-written, you must slide exactly 3 squares.

When sliding (or pushing or pulling), you resolve each square one at a time, without any requirement to look ahead. For push and pull, there are additional restrictions for what the next square is (i.e. farther or closer), but with slide, it can be any square.

So, most cases, with a "slide exactly 3", you'll still be able to end the target 1 or 2 squares away from it's starting position. But it is a full 3 squares of sliding.

There are some issues that could come up with the "back and forth" technique, though all of them are corner-case. For example, if there's terrain that does something when the creature enters it, that would trigger multiple times. If there are powers that trigger due to adjacency, that could trigger multiple times too. And finally, if you wanted the target to end up exactly 2 spaces away but it's only a straight, 1 square hallway, then you won't be able to make it work.

In summary, when you "slide 3", you do 3 forced movements of sliding, but without additional restrictions listed in the power, you're free to make each of the slides wherever you want.

skyscraper
skyscraper's picture

Gotcha, thanks for the reply!

skyscraper
skyscraper's picture

A related question: what about the Half-Giant Psychic Warrior's power:

Quote:
[]Sliding Cleave: Immediate, when this creature's {m} attack destroys an enemy; make a {b} attack. Hit or miss, this creature teleports 4 squares. RECHARGE when this creature uses Dissolving Weapon.

It says "teleports 4 sqaures". Can you teleport 4 squares in a circle, effectively ending your movement 1 square away from your original position? (I would think so also.)

skyscraper
skyscraper's picture

Nevermind the teleport question. I bumped my head looking down at my feet Smile

Teleport does not work the same way, it is a range.

Ira
Ira's picture

Yes, just for clarity: Teleport X is defined in the rules as "up to X squares away." That is different from Slide/Push/Pull X, which is functionally equal to "Slide/Push/Pull 1, X times."