Rules Question - Resist X and Additional Conditions

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Sirohk
Sirohk's picture
Rules Question - Resist X and Additional Conditions

A creature has reisitance to a type of damage, for example Onyx has Resist Acid 25.

Onyx is attacked by by an Adult Grey Dragon's Caustic Breath weapon attack - 20 acid damage AND push target up to 2 squares
AND Immobilized (save ends).

The attack roll hits Onyx, and Onyx resists the 20 acid damage.

The question. Is Onyx still pushed up to 2 squares and immobilized (save ends)?

Same question for the Galeb Duhr, Resist 30 All from Stony Transformation. The Galeb Duhr is hit by an Ambush Drake's Paralytic Cloud: 25 Damage AND Dazed (save ends). The Galeb Duhr resists the 25 damage. Would the Galeb Duhr be Dazed?

My thought. Following the Making an Attack sequence:
1. Declare the attack action.
2. Provoke opportunity attacks.
3. Resolve other “start of attack” effects.
4. Choose targets. Choose targets, resolve “on target” effetcs, etc...
5. Roll attack roll.
6. Apply damage and effects resulting from the attack. If the attack was a hit, resolve takes damage effects, if the attack has a follow up, the follow up occurs, etc...
7. Resolve “after attack” effects. Each player declares and resolves powers and effects which resolve after the attack.

Based on the above, Onyx and the Galeb Duhr would when hit take damage, and then the effect, and then Resist the damage, but still have the effect on them, with the exception of on going damage of the same type that was resisted (it would have no effect as per the rules).

Thoughts?

Thanks.

__________________

2011, 2012 200 Pt Constructed DDM World Champion
Bard of Heartstone
Champion of Rakshasa's

Justjooaivan
Justjooaivan's picture

I don't think anyone would disagree?

tried
tried's picture

I disgree.

Onyx takes hit, then takes damage and applies resist, any other triggers apply, THEN progress past the AND to the effects.

Each part of the effects (including damage) are resolved in series; X AND Y AND Z.
resolve all issues with X before Y and before Z.

__________________

Guildmaster Head of Organized Play

Sirohk
Sirohk's picture

Ok, agree with the serially (per the rules page 12), but is Onyx still pushed up to 2 and Immobilized? Onyx does take the damage, then resists it (serially). Onyx did take 20 damage, and it does not say he has to actually loose hit points, therefore the AND still takes place. Onyx is pushed and immobilized.

Same for Galeb.

Cool

__________________

2011, 2012 200 Pt Constructed DDM World Champion
Bard of Heartstone
Champion of Rakshasa's

demetri0us
demetri0us's picture

Yes. Onyx is still pushed and immobilized even though he resists the damage.

__________________

.

tried
tried's picture

The AND takes place regardless. It is just as valid an effect as any other, it simply does not happen first.

__________________

Guildmaster Head of Organized Play

Justjooaivan
Justjooaivan's picture

Would the answer have been different if it were "and" or "then" instead of "AND"?

demetri0us
demetri0us's picture

I don't think so. Though, it would be very unusual to have then in this particular case. I'd still rule it the same.

__________________

.

wiilaim
wiilaim's picture

http://7star.pk/

http://7star.pk/

http://7star.pk/