Attacks of Opportunity...

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
ArcticNomad
ArcticNomad's picture
Attacks of Opportunity...

Rot Grub Swarm (Feymire) is in the same square as Eladrim Silver Pyromancer (also Feymire).

Pyromancer decides to use Area Attack Firestorm: (sight, radius 1) +21 vs. Reflexes; 15 fire + 15 radiant damage, on a distant target while still standing on the Swarm.

Does the Swarm get an OoA? (We played it as Yes)

Does the Swarm also get to do its add-on: Superinfest: Use when Infestation hits: Target is also dominated (save ends... (We played it as Yes)

...and...

if so when does the domination occur? Immediately, or at the beginning of the Pyromancer's next turn??

...that part caused some discussion, but we said next turn!

tried
tried's picture

Immediately, and it interrupts the attack.

__________________

Guildmaster Head of Organized Play

ArcticNomad
ArcticNomad's picture

Thank you sir!

tried
tried's picture

remember that the affected creature saves at the end of the turn...if lucky, the domination would have no further effect.

__________________

Guildmaster Head of Organized Play

Ira
Ira's picture

The rules don't currently specify how to finish an attack if a creature becomes Dominated in the middle of it. Based on Tried's response, it seems like it would cause the attack to fizzle (except perhaps a basic attack with the provision that it could attack allies, in which case the attack could continue even while dominated. But now we're getting into a super corner case...)