Stone giants bonus damage

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
bakterius
bakterius's picture
Stone giants bonus damage

I played yesterday 2xstone giants, + half orc paladin + solar ... Can i apply bonus from solar and half orc paladin +5 +5 radiant on "Shattering Impact Boulder Hurside" (all adjacent creatures take 10 damage)? Then primary target take 35 and daze and all adjacent 20 damage? ty

skyscraper
skyscraper's picture

Hello Bakterius!

For future questions, I recommend that you copy the exact text of all relevant powers on which you wish to obtain help, otherwise you force others to look for it when it's you asking for help Smile But I'm a nice guy so I'll go through the moves here, and do my best to answer ;-P

So, I assume that you are referring to the Solar Angel from Elemental Evil (not the Solar from Blood War), and to his CP that reads:

Quote:
Use at start of round. Good creatures in your warband have +2 attack and +5 damage until end of round.

Also, the new (leaked!) Stone Giant Lord (and not the Stone Giant) has:

Quote:

Ranged Attack Shattering Impact Boulder Hurl: (sight) +22 vs. Reflex; 25 damage AND Dazed AND 10 damage to each creature adjacent to target.

The Half-Orc Paladin has:

Quote:
Use at start of round. Until end of round, allies have +5 Melee Attack damage against higher level enemies.

Firstly, the Solar Angel's CP and the paladin's CP can stack, i.e. they add together for a combined +2 attack and +10 damage, assuming the attack power is elibile: it must be a good creature for the Solar Angel's CP to work; and it must be a Melee Attack attack and vs. an higher level enemy for the paladin's CP to work. The Duplicate Effects rule on page 8 are the reference for this:

Quote:
Duplicate Effects: A creature or a player can't be affected by 2 or more uses of the same power at once. Two powers are identical if they have the same name or, if they have no name, if they have the same card text. For example, the Dwarf Battlemaster can grant a +10 bonus to Damage when an ally hits with a melee attack. Using this champion power with two Dwarf Battlemasters on the same attack does not provide a +20 bonus.

Since the two CP's don't have names, card text is inspected in this instance, and since the card text is not identical, these two CP's *could* stack.

Now, note that the paladin's CP is only usable on Melee Attack attacks, so here it would not work on the giant's Shattering Impact Boulder Hurl that is a Ranged Attack attack.

Would the bonus from the Solar Angel's CP (plus the bonus from the Half-Orc Paladin's, if his CP had been eligible) be applicable to both the main target of the hit and also to the adjacent creatures?

The primary target will indeed get +5 damage from the Solar Angel, for a total of 30+dazed.

Would the adjacent targets also get 10+5 or just 10? I believe the answer is that the adjacent creatures would get only 10 damage dealt. My understanding is that bonus damage is only applied to the direct daamge of attacks that hit, see collected rulings, line 158:

Quote:
Bonus damage effects only apply to attacks that hit, by default. If the effect specifically states "any time damage is dealt" or something similar, then the bonus damage will apply even on attacks that do damage on miss.

So, here, the attack is not a Area Attack attack, in which case all creatures in the area of effect would be affected by the attack's damage + the Solar's bonus. Instead, the attack is a Ranged Attack attack, which means that a single target takes the damage of the attack. The "10 damage to each creature adjacent to target", according to me, is an effect, a bit like dazed or immobilized, or more relevantly, a bit like ongoing damage, but instead it is punctual damage to adjacent creatures. Since that effect is not the attack's damage, it is not buffed by the +5 damage of the Solar Angel. Likewise, ongoing damage is not buffed by the Solar Angel's power, nor is Aura damage or other damage not the result of an attack.

Now, why does bonus damage such as the Solar Angel's not affect other damage such as an aura's, ongoing damage or effect damage such as the "10 damage to each creature adjacent to target" of the Stone Giant Lord? That is Ze Question, as they say. I can't find in the rules why it doesn't, and the best I could find was the above ruling; and I've been playing this way for a while now (although not initially), so I'll be glad to read someone knowledgeable's response if that someone read all the way to here in my own post Smile

bakterius
bakterius's picture

Thank you for fix my laziness nice guy Smile But, Iam misswrite second Miniature, iam use "Half-Orc Trueheart" CP: Creatures in your warband have +5 radiant damage until end of round. Sorry, my bad, iam still thinking its paladin.... iam write this in my work.. and not much time.

skyscraper
skyscraper's picture

No problem. Like I said, I'm a nice guy ;-P

My answer remains the same, with the exception that the damage from the two CPs now stack, for a total of 25+10+dazed damage to the single target of the giant's Ranged Attack attack, and 10 damage (no bonus) to the adjacent targets.