Resist all versus Resist X

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
bshugg
bshugg's picture
Resist all versus Resist X

A couple of questions on resist abilities:

1. critter has resist 5 acid, resist 5 poison and is hit by an attack that does 10 acid + 15 poison, how much do they take?

2. Critter has resist 5 all and is hit by an attack that does 10 acid + 15 poison, how much do they take?

3. Critter has resist 5 all and resist 5 poison and is hit by an attack that does 10 acid +15 poison, how much do they take?

4. Critter has resist 5 all and resist 5 poison AND resist 5 acid and is hit by an attack that does 10 acid +15 poison, how much do they take?

5. Critter has resist 5 all and resist 5 poison and is hit by an attack that does 10 normal damage +15 poison, how much do they take?

bakterius
bakterius's picture

simple answer. Only one resist can be applied. Resist ALL you may choose what kind of resist you want but only one.

Thenameless
Thenameless's picture

Bakeries is correct.

Edit: bakterius

skyscraper
skyscraper's picture

Autocorrect Thenameless? Wink

tried
tried's picture

1. critter has resist 5 acid, resist 5 poison and is hit by an attack that does 10 acid + 15 poison, how much do they take?

Answer: 5 acid + 10 poison

2. Critter has resist 5 all and is hit by an attack that does 10 acid + 15 poison, how much do they take?

Answer: Your choice: 5 acid and 15 poison OR 10 acid and 10 poison.

3. Critter has resist 5 all and resist 5 poison and is hit by an attack that does 10 acid +15 poison, how much do they take?

5 acid and 10 poison.

4. Critter has resist 5 all and resist 5 poison AND resist 5 acid and is hit by an attack that does 10 acid +15 poison, how much do they take?

5 acid and 10 poison.

5. Critter has resist 5 all and resist 5 poison and is hit by an attack that does 10 normal damage +15 poison, how much do they take?

5 normal damage and 10 poison

__________________

Guildmaster Head of Organized Play

Ira
Ira's picture

There might be some miscommunication with Tried's answers above.

I know he's working on v3 rules, so it's possible that the resist rules in v3 will be modified in some way.

The current v2 rules on resist are quite clear, on page 12, Resistance and Vulnerability section, Overlapping Powers and Order of Triggers subsection.

Quote:
If a creature has multiple Resist powers that would apply to the damage, only one can be used (the affected creature's controller chooses).

And then later in that section:

Quote:
For example, if a creature with Resist 5 Fire and Resist 10
Lightning would take “10 lightning + 10 fire damage”, you might choose to apply the Resist 10 lightning (the higher of the two), and the creature then takes 10 fire damage.

So that's clear for v2.

Besides v3 rules, Tried might also have been thinking about damage being done at separate times. If the damage examples are from two separate attacks, or an attack with a follow up, or an attack with initial damage and ongoing damage, then both resist powers could be used, one at each moment the damage happened.

But, assuming v2 rules and attacks doing multiple types of damage with a single attack, the answer from bakterius is correct.

tried
tried's picture

Ira is correct on this, based on the wording.

But the original intent of the rule was:

Any power can only be applied to one damage type.
Any damage type can only be affected by one power.
(refers to resist and immune powers)

(this logic should make my answers make more sense).

__________________

Guildmaster Head of Organized Play