Question: Anyspell

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Laurian
Laurian's picture
Question: Anyspell

Following Situation:

1. Storm Silverhand uses her second CP: "Each Human and Elf ally has +2 attack and +5 damage until end of round."

2. Elminster uses Anyspell to cast Confusion from Storm:

"Anyspell: Use 1 Ranged Attack , Close Attack , Area Attack attack action of an adjacent Arcane ally as though this creature had that attack action, using an Attack rating of +17 instead of its normal attack rating."

"Confusion: radius 2 sight, +16 vs. Will, confused, save ends"

Question: What is Elminsters attack bonus? Is it +17 or +19? In my opinion there are two conflicting "permissve rules on cards" (see page 4 of the rules).

Ira
Ira's picture

+19.

The attack value of Anyspell is +17, and then it's modified by the CP to be +19.

skyscraper
skyscraper's picture

I think that the "normal attack rating" for Storm's power is +16, notwithstanding any bonuses. Likewise, Elminster's becomes +17. It is not written as such in Anyspell, but I would interpret that the "normal" attack rating is the one as it appears next to the attack value - nothwithstanding bonuses. You then add applicable bonuses to this attack rating, which means that Elminster would cast Confusion at +19.

skyscraper
skyscraper's picture

Ninja'd!

tried
tried's picture

Note that Silver Fire has not attack rating, but gets an attack rating of +17.
(Its kind of a non-relevant point, because it is specified to be an automatic hit attack regardless of its attack rating! possibly for 20+5 damage!)

__________________

Guildmaster Head of Organized Play

skyscraper
skyscraper's picture

Quote:
Note that Silver Fire has not attack rating, but gets an attack rating of +17.
(Its kind of a non-relevant point, because it is specified to be an automatic hit attack regardless of its attack rating! possibly for 20+5 damage!)

You mention that Silver Fire deals a possible 20+5 damage? I thought I read somewhere in this forum, that bonuses to damage only applies to attacks that are not automatic hits. So Storm's, or Mialee's, automatic hit does benefit from any damage buff?

I look through the rules and collected rulings and actually don't see why I thought this. I actually played with buffs to automatic hit damage until only a few months ago. Maybe I misinterpreted or misread where it was mentioned that damage buffs don't apply to non-attack damage and thought that they might also don't apply to automatic hits.

Ha! Mialee's triumphant return!

Thenameless
Thenameless's picture

Well, there's a similar rule that says automatic hits can't be made into critical hits. Could that have been the source of confusion?

skyscraper
skyscraper's picture

Hmm maybe.